The: The Leeser Bible
Exodus 20:1-17

And God spoke all these words, saying, I am the Lord thy God, who have brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery.
  1. Thou shalt have no other gods before me.
  2. Thou shalt not make unto thyself any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is on the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth. Thou shalt not bow thyself down to them, nor serve them; for I the Lord thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children, unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me; And showing mercy unto the thousandth generation of them that love me, and keep my commandments.
  3. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain; for the Lord will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.
  4. Remember the sabbath day to keep it holy. Six days shalt thou labor, and do all thy work. But the seventh day is the sabbath in honor of the Lord thy God; on it thou shalt not do any work, neither thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy man–servant, nor thy maid–servant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates;

    For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested on the seventh day; therefore the Lord blessed the sabbath day, and hallowed it.
  5. Honor thy father and thy mother; in order that thy days may be prolonged upon the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee.
  6. Thou shalt not kill.
  7. Thou shalt not commit adultery.
  8. Thou shalt not steal.
  9. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
  10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s house. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife, nor his man–servant, nor his maid–servant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbor’s.
Download a copy of The Leeser Bible

Known details

Isaac Leeser


The twenty-four books of the Holy Scriptures were carefully translated after the best Jewish authorities by Isaac Leeser.

Volume 1 contains the earlier Prophets to the end of II Kings. Volume 2 is divided into two parts: the later Prophets and the Holy Writings or Hagiographa. Both volumes are bilingual, with the left-hand pages being in English and the right-hand pages being in Hebrew. The name of each book on the right-hand pages is in Hebrew and Latin. The print is quite small. There is no introduction or appendix.

Hebrew Publishing Company (1905)

Duff Family Library, Surrey, BC, Canada